Aphrodite in the style of the Capitoline Venus, ca. 150 AD, marble, Antikensammlung, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin (Inv. Sk 30)

Statuette of Apollo, 1st century BC-1st century AD, bronze, Antikensammlung, Staatliche Museen zu Berlin (Inv. Misc. 7934)

Olympus: The Greco-Roman Collections of Berlin

THIS SUMMER

For tickets and more, visit olympus.wag.ca 

Honorary Patrons:

  • His Excellency Werner Franz Wnendt, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to Canada
  • His Excellency Gian Lorenzo Cornado, Ambassador of the Italian Republic to Canada
  • His Excellency George Marcantonatos, Ambassador of the Hellenic Republic to Canada
  • The Honourable Shelly Glover, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages

Olympus: The Greco-Roman Collections of Berlin is the first major exhibition of classical antiquities in Manitoba in over half a century. The WAG is one of only two venues in North America to present this monumental show of ancient Greek and Roman art dating from the 7th century BC to the 2nd century AD, through a partnership with the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin (National Museums in Berlin). When it comes to classical art, it doesn’t get much better than this!

Olympus features over 160 works, including marble statues and reliefs, bronze statuettes, terracotta vases, and jewellery from the National Museums in Berlin's Antikensammlung (Collection of Classical Antiquities), drawn from the Altes Museum (Old Museum), the Neues Museum (New Museum), and the Pergamonmuseum (Pergamon Museum). Originating in the 17th century with the Electors of Brandenburg, the collection was built over three centuries from archaeological excavations in Italy, Greece, and Asia Minor from such sites as Olympia in 1845, Vulci in 1852, and Pergamon in 1878. Rarely seen outside of Europe, the collection survived the Napoleonic Wars, two World Wars, and the fall of the Berlin Wall.

Olympus also features exciting viewports built by the Manitoba LEGO® Users Group!

This is a unique opportunity to see an astonishing number of representations of Greek and Roman gods and other classical personalities in artworks of exceedingly high quality, known for their historic, cultural, and aesthetic merit. Olympus explores the fascinating world of mythology and religion, reflecting the universal preoccupation with creation, the nature of god and humankind, the afterlife, and other aspects of spirituality. From the times of Homer and Hesiod, intriguing myths and legends have remained constant because of their beauty and power. A longstanding source of inspiration for the world, these stories have been renewed and interpreted with infinite variations, expressed in exciting and challenging new ways through literature, visual art, music, dance, and film.

Outreach to schools and post-secondary institutions is extensive. To find out more, visit olympus.wag.ca/learn

To view all sponsors, visit olympus.wag.ca.

Adopt your piece of history by clicking here.

To access press images, click here. Please email our Public Relations Coordinator for login information.

Sponsored By

Related Programs & Events

Past Programs & Events

  • Volunteer Information Night

    Participate in your community by volunteering at the WAG. Attend an information night March 20 to learn more about the many opportunities that exists in your own city.

    Friday March 20 at 6pm

  • Let Go of Your LEGO: Youth Programs LEGO Drive

    Donate your used LEGO to our Summer Art Camps where it will be transformed into incredible architectural and mixed-media projects by the children attending camp!

    Thursday, April 2 to Tuesday, August 4

  • Video: Special Edition - 2015 Architecture + Design Film Festival Screening

    The WAG is thrilled to offer a special screening of Secrets of the Parthenon in collaboration with the 2015 Architecture and Design Film Festival.

    Wednesday April 15 at 12pm

  • Members' Preview: Olympus

    Members, join us for a preview of Olympus.

    Saturday, April 25 from 1pm to 6pm

  • Olympus Odyssey: Mini-Tour and Activity Booklet

    Use this mini tour and activity guide to discover the treasures of ancient Greece and Rome.

    Tuesday, April 28 to Saturday, April 30

  • Olympus Viewports

    Find the hidden viewports within Olympus and watch ancient myths come to life in these fascinating animations.

    Tuesday, April 28 to Saturday, April 30

  • Tour: Olympus: The Greco-Roman Collections of Berlin with Angeliki Bogiatji

    Enjoy an inspiring tour of this monumental exhibition of ancient Greek and Roman art.

    Wednesday April 29 at 12pm

  • Wine & Words

    In partnership with Theatre by the River, a medley of local actors and celebrities performing written works themed to Olympus!

    Friday May 1 at 7pm

  • Drop-in Tours: Olympus

    Join one of our tour guides for a look at Olympus.

    Saturday May 2 at 2pm
    Sunday May 3 at 2pm
    Saturday May 9 at 2pm
    Sunday May 10 at 2pm
    Saturday May 16 at 2pm
    Sunday May 17 at 2pm
    Saturday May 23 at 2pm
    Sunday May 24 at 2pm
    Saturday May 30 at 2pm
    Sunday May 31 at 2pm
    Saturday June 6 at 2pm
    Sunday June 7 at 2pm
    Saturday June 13 at 2pm
    Sunday June 14 at 2pm
    Saturday June 20 at 2pm
    Sunday June 21 at 2pm
    Saturday June 27 at 2pm
    Sunday June 28 at 2pm
    Saturday July 4 at 2pm
    Sunday July 5 at 2pm
    Saturday July 11 at 2pm
    Sunday July 12 at 2pm
    Saturday July 18 at 2pm
    Sunday July 19 at 2pm
    Saturday July 25 at 2pm
    Sunday July 26 at 2pm

  • Talk: Greek Mythology I: Statues & Stories with Dr. Jane Cahill

    Explore Greek mythology with expert and performing storyteller, Dr. Jane Cahill as she brings several ancient statues from the Olympus exhibition to life.

    Wednesday May 6 at 12pm

  • Talk: Greek Mythology II: Every Picture Tells a Tale with Dr. Jane Cahill

    Learn more about Greek mythology with expert Dr. Jane Cahill as she explores ancient tales illustrated on centuries-old terracotta Greek vases from the Olympus collection.

    Wednesday May 20 at 12pm

  • Film Nights@WAG

    Explore the classical world through film with Dr. Laurence Broadhurst, from the Dept. of Religion and Culture and the Dept. of Classics at the University of Winnipeg. Discover the many ways in which film and popular culture have been influenced by the ancient world.

    Friday, May 22 from 7pm to 9pm
    Friday, June 5 from 7pm to 9pm

  • Family Sunday: Behold Olympus!

    Enjoy an afternoon of fun activities inspired by Olympus.

    Sunday, May 24 from 1:30pm to 4pm

  • Top of Olympus: Rooftop Art Party!

    All teens are welcome for this event!

    Friday, May 29 from 6pm to 10pm

  • Olympus Kids' Launch

    This Father’s Day, bring your family to the WAG and be among the first to see a spectacular collection of viewports created by the Manitoba LEGO® Users Group.

    Sunday, June 21 from 1:30pm to 4pm

  • Annual General Meeting of the Winnipeg Art Gallery

    Thursday June 25 at 6:30pm

  • Summer Art Camp

    Summer Art Camps at the Winnipeg Art Gallery explore weekly themes based on the monumental exhibition Olympus: The Greco-Roman Collections of Berlin. There is a new theme every week where campers will investigate either architecture, mythology, or the wonderful world of clay.

    Monday, July 6 to Friday, August 21

  • Shakespeare in the Ruins: Antony and Cleopatra

    A special edited presentation by Shakespeare in the Ruins of this classic tale.

    Wednesday July 8 at 3pm
    Wednesday July 8 at 7pm
    Thursday July 9 at 3pm
    Thursday July 9 at 7pm

Sign up for e-news

Gallery Hours

  • Tuesday 11am-5pm
  • Wednesday 11am-5pm
  • Thursday 11am-5pm
  • Friday 11am-9pm
  • Saturday 11am-5pm
  • Sunday 11am-5pm
  • Closed Monday

Holiday Hours

 

WAG Social Media

Share This

This should be hidden